Last Day in London

Hi there! Sorry for the radio silence. The last week has been an absolute whirlwind! My last full day in London was wonderful – even with the on-again-off-again rain showers. It wouldn’t be a true UK experience without a few sprinkles. I started my day with breakfast at darling cafe around the corner. I ordered eggs Benedict and an Americano coffee. The hollandaise sauce wasn’t as buttery or creamy as what I’m used to in the U.S., but it was still delicious!

Image may contain: tree and outdoor

Then I took the Tube over to the Picadilly Circus area where I wandered around for a bit. I spent some time dodging rain by darting in and out of stores. There were so many shops! I decided last minute that I wanted to see a musical so I grabbed a list from a ticket stand. WHAT A LIST. Minneapolis usually has 1-2 musicals at a time… here in London the options were endless. I felt spoiled rotten! I wanted to see everything, obviously, but I could only choose one. 🙂

Image may contain: car, sky and outdoor

Image may contain: sky and outdoor

Image may contain: 1 person, outdoor

Image may contain: one or more people, sky and outdoorNo automatic alt text available.

I decided to catch the matinee showing of “CHICAGO: The Musical” and boy was I impressed. I read that Cuba Gooding Jr. was starring in it, but that wasn’t the case for my show. That’s totally okay! I was still absolutely blown away. They had a live jazz band that was absolutely incredible. I would have paid good money just to see them play! The costumes were mesmerizing and the choreography was electric. Also the voices of the actors and actresses was unbelievable – they were so talented! I loved all the harmonies. Since I bought a solo ticket just 30 minutes before the curtains closed, I was in the 10th row at center stage. Couldn’t ask for better seats.Image may contain: sky and outdoor WHAT A GREAT SHOW!!! I’m not normally the spontaneous type, especially when it comes to spending money, but I’m so happy I treated myself.

Image may contain: sky and outdoor

No automatic alt text available.

Image may contain: indoor

On that day I got a kick out of walking around Hamley’s Toy Shop. This place was a kid’s dream! I loved seeing all of the happy kids and all of their smiling faces. This toy store would put even the grouchiest person in a good mood. Of course I had to browse the Disney, board game and the Barbie sections – I’m still a kid at heart, after all. There really is something for everyone here. This four-floor store had giant displays of Harry Potter, Star Wars, Barbie, Legos and so on. I didn’t spend a ton of time there but I’m glad I stopped in. People always say that kids these days don’t even play with toys – RIP Toys R Us – but I can tell you that kids DO love toys. At least they did at this store!

No automatic alt text available.

Image may contain: 1 person

Image may contain: 4 people, people standing

For dinner I stopped into a French restaurant near my hostel. It was delicious! Why not gear up for my 10 weeks in France, right?! I ordered a glass of wine, a salmon appetizer and some French fries. A pretty random meal but I liked it. I didn’t want anything too heavy or rich so this was perfect for me. Okay, I know fries can be rich but I was craving them so bad! I don’t remember what the cheese/dip was in the center of the salmon but I hope we meet again someday. I remember it had dill but I’m not sure what else.

Image may contain: people sitting and food

Image may contain: indoor

Then that night I packed up my bags and stayed up all night (not kidding) to catch my flight to Greece. So that’s a wrap! I’m going to do a separate post about my hostel later so stay tuned for that.

Thanks for reading!

 

Leave a comment